How to See who Blocked you on Twitter (Complete Guide in 2021)

Twitter gives you various tools to control what you see in your feed, and one of those is the ability to block people whom you don’t want to engage with. If someone has Blocked you on Twitter, the bad news is that you don’t get notified. Nor is there anywhere you can go to see a complete list of accounts that have blocked you.

Twitter gives people a variety of tools to control their experience, including blocking. Blocking helps people in restricting specific accounts from contacting them, seeing their Tweets, and following them. If you have been blocked by another account on Twitter, you can still block other accounts (including any that have blocked you).

Being Blocked you on Twitter is arguably one of the most frustrating things in the world, and it’s even more frustrating if it happens on an engaging platform like Twitter. Like all other leading social networking sites, blocking on Twitter is a sneaky affair, which makes it all the more difficult to know when it happens. So, in an attempt to help you out, today, we’ll tell you the ways to check whether someone has blocked you on the platform

Twitter provides the option for anyone to block other users as a Twitter Account Secure restrict accounts from their profile and control who has access to the content they post. Unfortunately, it does not provide a list of the people who blocked you. Neither it notifies who is being Blocked you on Twitter. However, if you are suspecting someone is keeping you out, there is an easy way to verify it!

How to Find out who Blocked you on Twitter

Blocked you on Twitter

First, there are no specific ways to find who blocked you on Twitter. But you can investigate the individual accounts if you doubt that someone has blocked you on the platform.

Follow these steps to find out if you’re blocked from a particular account:

  • Launch Twitter either on a web browser or on the app.
  • Search for the profile that you think might have Blocked you on Twitter.
  • If that account blocks you, you will not be able to visit their profile. Twitter will display a message clearly stating that

The problem here is that you will not receive a notification or alert when someone blocks you on Twitter. The only way to find that is to look into the account and check if you have been blocked.

So, other than digging into the accounts of the people you suspect to have blocked you, there is no way to get a list of accounts that have Blocked you on Twitter.

What is Blocking on Twitter?

Blocking on Twitter means you are placed in a virtual penalty jail. After you block someone, Twitter does not allow that person to visit your profile, or communicate with you through tweet replies or messages.

When an account blocks you, you will not be able to visit the profile or view any content posted by them. You will also not be able to tag them in your posts, photos, videos, or any other content. The posts and the content they post will not be visible in your timeline, either. Their tweets won’t even appear in your search results.

So, you will be completely blocked out of the person’s profile who has blocked you.

Just in case you want to know how blocking works on Twitter, or better still, how you can block someone, you can do so from the profile of the person you want to block.

Here’s how you can block an account on Twitter:

  • Navigate to the profile of the person you want to block.
  • Locate the three dots next to Follow/Following.
  • Locate the option Block @username and click on it.

That’s it. You have successfully blocked the person or the profile in question.

Now, what happens when someone blocks you on Twitter?

  • You can tweet to them, but they will get an alert indicating that they have tweets pending to them from you.
  • You would not see their tweets on your timeline.
  • Your will not be able to see each other’s replies in a conversation.
  • You cannot find their tweets under any hashtags even when they are using hashtags extensively.
  • They will not be able to see the retweets of your tweets.
  • You will not be able to send Direct Messages to each other.

Does Twitter Notify You When You Get Blocked?

Twitter has kept the concept of blocking a sneaky option. That is why Twitter does not send any notification or alert when someone blocks you.

Similarly, when you block someone on Twitter, the person you blocked will not get any alert to indicate that they have been blocked. Unless you get suspicious and try investigating the person’s profile, you will not find who Blocked you on Twitter.

While Twitter itself may not send you alerts and notifications, you can perhaps find how many people have blocked you on Twitter through third-party apps.

The service does let you know the number of Twitter accounts that are blocking you. But it only shows the number of accounts and not the actual names or usernames of those accounts.

Blocked you on Twitter

Can you get a list of the people who have blocked you on Twitter?

Twitter has always been a discreet platform and values the privacy of its users. That is why there is no way you can get a list of the people who have Read Comments on Twitter.

You are likely to come across several websites, tools, and apps that promise to do that for you and share the list of people who have Blocked you on Twitter. But, unless Twitter provides a native feature or API compatibility, no app or tool can scrape the information.

How to find is a contact has blocked you

So, first, you’ll need to find a user who might be following the suspected blocker. Go to their Twitter profile and click on “Following” to get the list of people they are following.

Depending on the number of the people they are following, it could take a while for you to reach the bottom of the screen. Once you do, right-click on the page to save it as a “complete webpage”.

Now, open the HTML file in Notepad, and search for the keyword: “blocks-you”. If you get a hit, look for the Twitter username a couple of lines above the found text — “blocks-you”. The username you get there is blocking you on Twitter. You’ll have to repeat this step for all the suspected accounts.